DIY: YOGURT FACE MASK

Being home for about a month now has been great, but I do miss the spa & salon occasionally. I miss all the wonderful people I used to work with and all the great services. I was lucky enough to get a couple facials while I was there and absolutely fell in love with the whole idea of pampering your face. Well now that I live back home and currently still seeking employment, I can’t afford those fancy pampering treatments. I did a little research and saw a great do it yourself face mask using plain yogurt.

I was a little nervous just because I do have sensitive skin, and I had a couple of blemishes on my face. I watched youtube videos and read other blogs just like anyone else would, but what really convinced me was this website I stubbled uping,  livestrong.com. On this website they explained all the benefits of the mask and completely talked me into it.

I went to my local grocery store and bought just a small plain yogurt cup. I didn’t buy the huge one because I wasn’t so sure about the idea yet, and because I think plain yogurt is nasty, I didn’t want to waste food.

Now Iknow the website only calls for washing your face with mild soap to clean the face before, but I used a MAC makeup wipe to first take off my makeup, then I used my cleanser and washed my face, and used a toner to re-assure that I got all the dirt/makeup off my face.

At first I just dipped my fingers into the cup and started to apply the yogurt using my hands. Using my hands I could just get a thin layer, So I grabbed my foundation brush and started using that to apply the mask. I definitely recommend using some kind of face brush to apply the yogurt, I feel like I got more of an even and thicker layer.

After I applied the yogurt to my face I let it sit for 20 min. 5 min after applying the mask, I could feel it hardening. 10 min after the mask I was starting not to be able to move my face around with out it feeling like it was pulling on the mask. 15 min,  the mask had completely harden. When it was time to wash the mask off, I didn’t know how difficult or messy it was going to be, so just like if you were getting a facial, I got a hand towel and soaked it in hot water, and started to take the mask off that way, once I got most of it off, I finished taking it off like if I was washing my face.

WARNING NO MAKEUP ON:


The results surprised me. My skin was baby soft and had a nice glow to it. I don’t have huge pores on my nose, but I do have some little ones that I notice, when looking close, they even looked smaller. The blemishes on my face seemed like they weren’t irritated, and being a day later, almost gone. I am very shocked that a simple food product can do great wonders to the face. I will definetly be purchasing a bigger tub, and try to do this mask 2-3 times it recommends.

Have any of you ever tried doing this mask? What other cool DIY have you heard about or tried? Let me know if you try this one and how it worked out for you!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Get connected for all the latest on beauty!

4 Comments on “DIY: YOGURT FACE MASK”

  1. nicole
    November 19, 2011 at 5:11 PM #

    Great info, and you look great without make-up! =)

  2. Sandy
    April 4, 2012 at 10:24 PM #

    I have been trying the yogurt mask for about 2 weeks now, I’m shocked that such inexpensive product can have huge effects on my skin.. One week prior to me using the yogurt mast I had spent $380.00 on acne medications from a dermatologist the products irritated my skin leaving me with red, flaky, itchy skin.. I discontinued the products and started using yogurt.. Not only did it heal my skin it closed all my pores, even my skin color, and I no longer have oily T Zone.. I will continue using the yogurt mask for 4 times a week..
    ps.. Everyone thought the dermatologist products were working but in reality it’s the yogurt mask that’s done all these beautiful changes..

  3. May 13, 2012 at 9:42 AM #

    Well, you’ve sold me. My 6-year-old daughter wants to give me a Spa Day for mother’s day (today). We have a tub of plain yogurt in the fridge (bought by mistake; I thought it was vanilla — I, too, think plain yogurt is nasty and I am a dietitian!!) Anyhow, I’m going to (gulp) hand the reins over to my girl and let her have her way with my face. Let you know how it goes!!

  4. May 13, 2012 at 5:39 PM #

    Well, I survived and I’d say my skin is a bit softer. Got some good pics, too! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

