ARTIST OF THE WEEK

ROKAEL LIZAMA

My name is Rokael Lizama I am a Celebrity Makeup Artist currently working in the Los Angeles area, my work has been featured in TV, Print, Music Videos, and Fashion. I began playing with makeup by mistake when a friend asked me to do her makeup after she saw a sketch I had drawn of a dress, she loved the way I had drawn the woman’s face so she asked me to do her makeup just like in the sketch and that is how my love affair with makeup began, growing up I thought I was going to be a fashion designer and I looked into many fashion schools but they where so expensive and even though I had gotten scholarships in high school I couldn’t figure out how I was going to be able to afford my full tuition, After I did my friends makeup I thought to myself if I become a makeup artist or hairstylist I can make some money fast and maybe I can afford to pay for it down the line, But little did I know that the more I played with makeup the more I fell in love with it the feeling that a woman would get after that last touch of gloss on her lips and the way her confidence would boost as soon as they saw their reflection in the mirror, it’s like watching a Rose bloom before your very eyes I saw myself doing nothing else. Once I began attending beauty school I decided that I didn’t want to work in a Salon or do hair so I began to build my makeup kit and worked on my portfolio as a makeup artist. I had a couple of friends that worked for a few TV networks and while I was in beauty school they helped me get jobs working on tv shows and I began working my way up in the industry. I became very passionate about my work and I did a lot of research to become the best I could be, through networking, referrals, and many sacrifices I began to get Celebrity clients such as Kathy Griffin, Jeannie Mai (The Style Networks: How Do I Look?), Kanye West, Tila Tequila, Jenna Ushkowitz (GLEE), and Sammi Giancola (The Jersey Shore), Just to name a few. Makeup has been such an amazing journey and it’s allowed me to see things I could never even dream of, I’m so fortunate and blessed that God has given me the opportunity to be able to do what I love do and to work with such amazing people. I’m very determined and very ambitious and even though I’ve had many doors slammed in my face and have heard countless No’s, I always take it as fuel to feed my fire I could never let anyone bring me down because what God has for you no one can take away! I’m addicted to this world it brings such joy to my life and I strive to bring that same joy to others whether it be through my work or a small conversation, Makeup has a way of connecting people emotionally and to me that’s a beautiful thing.

Creative influence:
I have so many creative influences but the people who know me personally or that have worked with me will tell you that ever since I embarked on this amazing journey as a professional makeup artist the one influence that resonates the most in my work is Jennifer Lopez, She inspires me for so many reasons but in the subject of makeup it’s her confidence and beauty that has always inspired me and I try to sprinkle a little bit of that confidence on every woman or face I touch. It is no secret that she loves makeup and appreciates the art and is known for in bringing in a new look in makeup, bronzed glowing skin a look that is often referred to in the business as “Lit from within” which can be credited to the amazing Scott Barnes.

Most important tool:
CLEAN washed hands: I have learned that sometimes you have to work with what you have and what better than your hands! They can never leave your body and they are naturally heated which is great for melting your concealer, cream foundation/liquid, cream blush (which can be tripled as your eyeshadow, blush, and lipstick) and making it easy to apply to the skin, this tip would be most beneficial for the woman on the go but for working artists if you can learn how to create a good fresh look with good placement of your product and figure out ways to replace your brushes with the use of your fingers it can come in handy for test shoots, fashion shows, etc. especially when time is crucial! When working with your hands directly to the face It should always feel like a relaxing facial massage not like your picking at their face.

Favorite product:
Skin Highlighting Powder: whether it be pressed or loose I love to apply it in the inner corner of the eyes, brow bone, crest of the lip, and cheekbones it creates dimension and a healthy luminous glow without looking shiny.

Favorite feature:

SKIN: it is the canvas of all makeup artists and any woman or man who wears makeup, so I am very passionate about how its cared for and prepped before even a stitch of makeup is applied! I have been very lucky that my celebrity clients are very disciplined and knowledgeable when it comes to the care of their skin and even though they have access to some of the best skincare, It’s not always how much your skin care costs but what it does for your skin. Do some research on issues you may have with your skin and you may be surprised how many affordable things are out there or even in your own kitchen that you can use to make it looks its best! and make sure you create a daily regimen because your skin NEVER takes a break.

Most admired makeup artist:

In these two years I’ve been inspired by so many different artists in the business whether it may have been their work or their passion for what they do, and I’ve been very blessed and I’m so grateful to have met some who saw something in me and have helped me to become a better artist and professional. But when it comes to skill and craft Scott Barnes is definitely my favorite his vision and approach to the art of makeup is amazing!

What would be your advice to an inspiring makeup artist?

My advice to anyone who dreams of becoming a makeup artist is that they make sure they know exactly what the want to do, Have a strategy and plan and do all the research you can in the exact field you want to be in because there are so many different types of makeup artists and they all require different types of experience, education, knowledge and sometimes even talent. Every artist has a different success story so never feel like your success will come in the same way as others but always know what your end goal is and what the steps will be to reach it, hoping and waiting to get a break will not get you there so always go out of your way to get yourself ahead and NEVER ever get discouraged always know that your talent and professionalism will get you noticed and that will take you to where you need to be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

website www.beautybyrokael.com

twitter @rokaelmakeup

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Featured Artist

Subscribe

Get connected for all the latest on beauty!

One Comment on “ARTIST OF THE WEEK”

  1. shane
    March 30, 2011 at 10:48 PM #

    love rokael’s work …very inspiring…to me and to the millions of make up fans out there….waiting for his beauty products to launch….

Leave a Reply

